Award of the 23rd VIFF of Asian Cinemas

Honorary Golden Cyclo
(granted by Communauté d'agglomération of Vesoul)

 Ms. Rakhshan Bani-Etemad (director, Iran) for her film career.

Ms. Swarna Mallawarachchi (actress, Sri Lanka) for her film career.


International Jury
President: Ms. Rakhshan Bani-Etemad, director (Iran). Committee: Ms. Byambasuren Davaa, director (Mongolia), Ms. Rusudan Chkonia, director (Georgia) and M. Vimukthi Jayasundara, director (Sri Lanka).

Golden Cyclo
(sponsored by Conseil Régional de Bourgogne-Franche-Comté)

500M800M by Yao Tian (China)

For depicting the courage of the people living in the mountains in a sensitive and authentical way by the filmmaker.

Grand Jury Award

Being Born by Mohsen Abdolvahab (Iran)

For the director's delicacy in focusing on contemporary current issues of the societies.


Jury Prize
(sponsored by Conseil Départemental de la Haute-Saône)

Going the Distance by Harumoto Yujiro (Japan)

For questionning the limits of friendship and moral engagement.

Special Mention

Actress Hiromi Hakogi in Her Mother by Sato Yoshinori (Japan)

Iromi Hakogi


President: Ms. Gulbara Tolomushova, Kirgiz film specialist (Kirghizstan). Committee: Ms. Swarna Mallawarachchi, actress (Sri Lanka)
and M. Jakub Krolikowski, Five Flavour's Asian Film Festival (Poland).



Going the Distance by Harumoto Yujiro (Japan)

For its effective use of comedy and multiple stands of narrative culminating into a dramatic ending that hits home the film’s message with sublime power.


Film Critics' Jury
President: Lucien Logette, Jeune Cinéma film critic. Committee: Yves Montmayeur, director and Laurent Gallard, film critic.


Film Critics' Award

Hotel Salvation by Shubhashish Bhutiani (India)

For his very personal view upon three successive generations, representative of India's evolution.


Emile Guimet Jury
President: M. Prasanna Vithanage, director (Sri Lanka). Committee: Ms. Shahana Goswani, actress (India),
and Ms. Wafa Ghermani, Taiwanese cinema specialist).

Emile Guimet Prize
(sponsored by the Friends of National Museum
of Asian Arts of Paris)

Baby Beside Me by Son Tae-gyum (South Korea)

For its intense depiction of a young man trying to get a grip on life, evolving from adolescence to adulthood. And the portrayal of a young mother whose absence brings out her multiple facets yet she remains mysteriously indefinable.

Emile Guimet Special Mention

Going the Distance by Harumoto Yujiro (Japan)

For its energy in expressing the struggle of two orphans trying to survive in the time of an economic recession and to fit into a society where having a family is more important than real care. A tribute to friendship that often is deeper than the institution of family.


Inalco Jury
President: Pascale Trimbach. Committee: Camille Andronik, Hassan Khan and Astrid Vassé.

Inalco Prize
sponsored by the National Institute of Oriental Languages and Civilizations, Paris

Emma (Mother) by Riri Riza (Indonesia)

For the strong-minded, sincerity and shining mother, the precision of the details, the music and the beauty of the image.

Inalco Special Mention

500M800M by Yao Tian (China)

For the quality of images, a daring choice of a heavy societal problem and the trueness of the acting.


High Schools Jury


High Schools Award

The Dark Wind by Hussein Hassan (Iraq)


Youth Jury


Youth Award
(sponsored by the Communauté d'agglomération of Vesoul)

In the Mood for Life by Marjolaine Grappe & Christophe Barreyre (France/China)



Audience Award for a fiction film
(sponsored by the city of Vesoul)

The Dark Wind by Hussein Hassan (Iraq)

Audience Award for documentary films
(sponsored by Communauté d'Agglomération of Vesoul)

An Untouchable Among the Dead by Asil Rais (India)

  • 01-vesoulagglo
  • 02-vesoul
  • 03-regionbfc
  • 04-hautesaone
  • 05-cnc
  • 06-minsiteredelaculture
  • 07-academiebesanconweb
  • 08-FDCP
  • 09-uniphilippines
  • 10-guimet
  • 11-inalco
  • 12-keolis
  • 13-vbus
  • 14-mobiliteagglomeration
  • 15-mobigo
  • 16-creditagricole
  • 17-suzuki
  • 18-SNCF
  • 19-orange
  • 20-cora
  • 21-mgen
  • 22-vignoblesguillaume
  • 23-georgescuisine
  • 24-distilleriepeureuxweb
  • 25-Prime
  • 26-sahgev
  • 27-orinvestissement
  • 28-majestic
  • 29-schraag
  • 30-netizis
  • 31-onlineformapro
  • 32-franceinter
  • 33-francebleubesancon
  • 34-estrpublicain
  • 35-france3bfc
  • 36-lapressedevesoul
  • 37-ecrannoir
  • 38-asianmoviepulse
  • 39-positif
  • 40-tlramasorties
  • 41-cinealliance
  • 42-jfmaillot
  • 43-dbtechnique
  • 44-badkidproductions

FICA Contact
 +33(0)3 84 76 55 82
 25 rue Dr Doillon, 70000 VESOUL

Press Contact
J-M. Thérouanne : +33(0)6 84 84 87 46


Follow us!