Print this page

Julian Schnabel

Rate this item
(0 votes)


Julian Schnabel


1996: Basqiat
2000: Before Night Falls
2007: The Diving Bell and the Butterfly 
2007: Lou Reed’s Berlin (d)
2008: Miral
2018: At Eternity’s Gate




Julian Schnabel was born in New York in 1951. He moved with his family to Brownsville, Texas in 1965. He received his B.F.A. at the University of Houston. After graduating, he sent an application to the Independent Study Program (ISP) at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York. In 1978, he travels through Europe. His paintings are shown all over the world and his works are in the collections of various international museums. Schnabel began his film career in the 1990s with the film Basquiat, a biopic on the painter Jean-Michel Basquiat (1996), before directing several other movies.

Related items